What’s It Like To Be Admitted To A Psychiatric Ward?

Posted on

Mental Illness Talk

At home I always thought that I needed my room to be in total darkness and complete silence in order for me to sleep but my time spent on psychiatric wards have taught me that I can sleep through anything. I can sleep through the torch being shone on me every 15 minutes throughout the night and I can sleep with my light on and no pillows or blankets. I can sleep on a plastic mattress and I have no problem sleeping whilst someone sits on a chair at the end of my bed and watches me constantly.

Gone are the days of playing music or putting the hand driers on so that nobody can hear me wee because now I am watched and it’s happened so much that I’m used it it now. I’m used to having someone stare at me whilst I go to the toilet and whilst…

View original post 449 more words

Leave a Reply

