Nurse’s emotional plea to Jeremy Hunt backed by thousands of supporters

Aside Posted on

Nurse’s emotional plea to Jeremy Hunt backed by thousands of supporters

Stacey Williams, a nurse from Liverpool, sent an open letter to the government minister via the Facebook page “I’m In Work Jeremy”

Liverpool nurse Stacey Williams
Inundated: Nurse Stacey Williams whose emotional plea to Jeremy Hunt on Facebook attracted thousands of likes

A nurse who posted an emotional appeal to Health Secretary Jeremy Hunt has been inundated with thousands of messages of support.

Stacey Williams sent an open letter to the government minister via the Facebook page “I’m In Work Jeremy”, which was set up after the MP suggested senior medical staff weren’t working enough weekend shifts.

The 27-year-old from Liverpool wrote: “This weekend I cried.

“I cried because as a mum to a two-year-old, that I had only briefly seen in three days, I missed her and my heart ached.

“I cried because I am a nurse. Not because I hate my job but because I love it so much and we are stretched beyond breaking point.

Facebook Liverpool nurse Stacey Williams Facebook post
Heart felt: Stacey Williams’ emotional Facebook post to Jeremy Hunt

“Not just us nurses but health care assistants, midwives, doctors and paramedics.

“We have been told far too many times lately that we are being greedy by wanting more money or that we don’t want our enhancements cut.

“We are told we need to be 24/7 by people who do not work 24/7, when that is exactly what we do.

“In my role I have seen every hour of the day and in doing so I have missed family occasions, missed aspects of my daughter’s growth, missed friend’s birthdays.

“But I love being a nurse. I love providing people with basic care.

Read more here

Leave a Reply

